Tug of Love

8

February 15, 2015 by Melanie L.

I felt a vague pull emanating from the dark folds of time just beyond my horizon. I circled closer curious. The weight of true love tugged me over the threshold, and I found him waiting. In dilated time, he kisses me endlessly.


I missed the deadline to submit this in response to Yeah Write’s micro-story challenge #200 answering the question “Who do you love?” in exactly 42 words.  I had planned to tweak it more to answer the “who” a little more concretely but, what can I say, I took a mid-week space voyage and lost track of time. So, I’m submitting it here! Yeah Write community, I’d love your feedback. To my readers, how about you? Who do you love?

IMG_4333

8 thoughts on “Tug of Love

  1. Romantic, pretty, I like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You should link this up at the yeah write weekend writing showcase. Open all weekend starting Fridays at 6 pm.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Natalie DeYoung says:

    Ooo, “dilated time.” That phrase sticks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Melanie L. says:

    Hmm, I just noticed that all my punctuation and structure disappeared. I published from my iPhone. I wonder if that had something to do with it? Oh well.

    Like

  5. innatejames says:

    “I circled closer, curious.” is a good line. It suggests a game is being played.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Behind the Blog

Melanie L.

Melanie L.

I'm a happily re-married, full-time lawyer, and full-time mom raising two adorable vilde chayas (Yiddish: wild things) named Monkey and Peanut (not their real names!). I am often seen in public counting to three. In addition to parenting and writing, I also love photography, cosmology, evolutionary anthropology, and all things Israel.

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 413 other followers

