6 Common Mistakes New Moms Should Avoid

Leave a comment

August 1, 2015 by Melanie L.

In honor of the expected new addition to my extended family, I thought I’d recycle one of my old posts!

My Own Champion

Practice makes perfect.  That’s a given.  Since, I have been “practicing” motherhood for just about five years, I now boast “child-rearing expert” as one of my accomplishments.

But, alas, it’s true.  I did make some mistakes along the way. I figured, however, if I can save just one parent from making the same mistakes, my children’s future therapy bills will not have been in vain.

So, dear new moms (or moms-to-be), the following is a list of the six mistakes I regret making and my expert advice on avoiding the same.


MISTAKE #1: Referring to oneself in the third person

We all do it.  When we first bring Junior home, we talk to Junior and refer to ourselves in the third person.  “Mommy will get it for you.”  “Mommy loves you.”  “Is that for Mommy?”

But, avoid this mistake!

Instead, refer to yourself as “Fred.”* As in, “Aw, Fred’s…

View original post 833 more words

Leave a Reply

Behind the Blog

Melanie L.

Melanie L.

I'm a happily re-married, full-time lawyer, and full-time mom raising two adorable vilde chayas (Yiddish: wild things) named Monkey and Peanut (not their real names!). I am often seen in public counting to three. In addition to parenting and writing, I also love photography, cosmology, evolutionary anthropology, and all things Israel.

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 415 other followers

