Odyssey: In Fifty Words

30

April 7, 2014 by Melanie L.

DSCN0606_2_2

A mere fifteen feet of plush carpet stood between the studio’s bed and the bathroom, but, for the nonagenarian, traversing the distance was no small feat. The odyssey included a quarter-inch threshold at the door which threatened bone-shattering calamity. Nonetheless, the grandmother braved the distance to vesical relief thrice nightly.


This has been inspired by the weekly challenge: a story in 50 words, no more, no less.

30 thoughts on “Odyssey: In Fifty Words

  1. […] Odyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge | My Own Champion […]

    Like

  2. […] Odyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge | My Own Champion […]

    Like

  3. litadoolan says:

    You paint the picture of this logistic struggle so accurately, I felt the piece metaphors the ageing process. I enjoyed reading your post.

    Like

  4. […] Odyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge | My Own Champion […]

    Like

  5. Ted Luoma says:

    Nice. It’s the small challenges that trip you up.

    Like

  6. […] Odyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge | My Own Champion […]

    Like

  7. […] Odyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge | My Own Champion […]

    Like

  8. […] Odyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge | My Own Champion […]

    Like

  9. […] Odyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge | My Own Champion […]

    Like

  10. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  11. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  12. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  13. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  14. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  15. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  16. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  17. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  18. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  19. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  20. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  21. walllum says:

    Beautiful wordcrafting. A pleasure to read.

    Like

  22. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  23. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  24. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  25. […] My Own ChampionOdyssey: A Fifty Word Challenge […]

    Like

  26. […] was June, 2010 the last time someone asked me this very question.  My beloved elderly grandmother had just passed, but instead of mourning, I was basking in the glow of my second […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Behind the Blog

Melanie L.

Melanie L.

I'm a happily re-married, full-time lawyer, and full-time mom raising two adorable vilde chayas (Yiddish: wild things) named Monkey and Peanut (not their real names!). I am often seen in public counting to three. In addition to parenting and writing, I also love photography, cosmology, evolutionary anthropology, and all things Israel.

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 415 other followers

